We can win a climate debate

r1

Friends,

On Sunday, Cross Country Checkup, the CBC’s flagship weekly call-in show, is going to talk about climate change. They’re asking people to call and weigh in on the question: “is it wrong to eat meat?” And, they’re making the link to climate change and animal agriculture.

It’s an important question and one that I, as a vegetarian, think about a lot. But, I also know that climate change isn’t just about what we eat. It’s about fossil fuels and the massive economic transformation we need — like a Green New Deal for Canada. What we do as individuals only matters if we force politicians to act with the urgency required.

That’s why we need the CBC to organize a federal leaders’ climate debate ahead of October's election and, why we need to call into Cross Country Checkup this Sunday to let them know. We’re setting up a tool to help make it easy, but the phone lines don’t open up until the show airs on Sunday, so here’s what you can do right now.

Remember, the show airs this Sunday, July 28th, at 1:00 PM Pacific Time/2:00 PM Mountain Time/3:00 PM Central Time/4:00 PM Eastern Time/5:00 PM Atlantic Time.

We know that organizing works. Yesterday, our American friends at the Sunrise Movement got some big news. After weeks of pressure calling for a climate debate, two media outlets – CNN and MSNBC – announced they would host town halls putting critical questions about the climate emergency to Presidential hopefuls.1 This news makes it crystal clear that organizing works and, if we keep pushing, we can convince the CBC to host a federal leaders’ debate on climate change and a made-in-Canada Green New Deal.

As a kid, I remember hearing Cross Country Checkup on the radio most Sundays. It always struck me as a way to take the temperature of the country and learn what really mattered to people from coast to coast. That’s why this Sunday it’s so important to flood the CBC with calls for a climate debate.

And, we can start this weekend.

We’ve seen that it’s possible to win, now it’s time for us to make it happen,

Onwards,
Cam

PS — In case you need another reason to call for a climate debate, earlier this week regulators recommended approval for the Teck Frontier tar sands mine, despite massive adverse climate and other environmental impacts. The final decision on this project will be on the desk of the next Prime Minister and, at a climate debate, the CBC could ask party leaders - "which of you would green light the project?". These are the kinds of questions we need answers to so if you haven’t yet, make sure to sign our petition calling on the CBC to host a leaders’ debate on climate change and a Green New Deal.


References:

1. CNN Will Host Climate-Focused Town Hall As Issue Gains Momentum In 2020 Race


350.org is building a global climate movement. You can connect with us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, and r38

Login Form