A strategy session with 350 Canada

Join us on May 13th for a strategy session on building power for a just recovery from the COVID-19 r1

Friends,

Big Oil and greedy corporations are on a relentless pursuit to take advantage of the coronavirus pandemic and will stop at nothing to protect their profits.

On Friday, Export Development Canada greenlit a loan for Coastal GasLink pipeline, a project that lacks Indigenous peoples’ consent and would violate their lands, to the tune of half a billion dollars.1 It’s unacceptable that during a time that people across the country are struggling to pay their rent and bills, corporations continue to shamelessly receive billions in public bailouts.

Now more than ever we have to remain connected, united, and organized. That’s why 350 Canada is holding a special strategy session on building power for a Just Recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic. We would love for you to be a part of it. Here are the details and link to RSVP:

What: Organizing for a Just Recovery: Mass Strategy Session with the 350 Canada Team

When: Wednesday, May 13th 4 PM PT/ 5 PM MT / 6 PM CT/ 7 PM ET/ 8 PM AT

Where:... RSVP for the online strategy session here.

We simply can’t go back to business as usual after the pandemic. We know that well-organized right-wing interests will do everything in their power to demand mass-austerity, corporate bailouts, and climate inaction. This is all happening as climate impacts accelerate in severity, including a “well above average” forest fire season expected across the country in the months ahead.² That’s why we need to build a well-organized mass movement right now to win the just recovery we all deserve.

During the 350 Canada Mass Strategy Session, we will share our 3-part plan to build power in this moment for a just recovery to ensure no one is left behind in Canada’s recovery from the global health pandemic.

Join me and the rest of the 350 Canada team for our Mass Strategy Session next Wednesday to learn how we can win a Just Recovery that puts people and the planet before corporate profits. RSVP here.

Hope to see you next Wednesday on the call!

In solidarity,

Katie

PS -- The Coastal GasLink pipeline to move ahead without Indigenous consent through unsurrendered Wet’suwet’en territory. Land defenders are organizing a virtual online rally to tell KKR and Chase to stop funding the devastating pipeline. Join the online action on Thursday, May 7th to stand with Wet’suwet’en land defenders here -- please note this is a link to a Facebook event page.



References:

  1. Export Development Canada Transactions Summary
  2. Global News: Canada’s wildfire season expected to be ‘well above average’: Natural Resources Canada

350.org is building a global climate movement. You can connect with us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, and r38

Login Form