We got some huge news today

Join us tomorrow at 3pm PT / 6pm ET to hear our plans to push our federal leaders to act.

r1

Paov,

Today, Natural Resources Minister Seamus O'Regan announced that the federal government has begun a new consultative process to draft their Just Transition Plan.1

This is huge. And it's all thanks to the tens of thousands of people who spoke up and took action to demand a Just Transition Act. But, even though this was a welcome announcement, it's nowhere close to the scale of action we need in this moment.

Nearly 800 forest fires are now burning in Canada. Firefighters have been working around the clock, but hundreds of fires remain out of control. The smoke has now reached across the whole country, triggering air quality warnings from BC to Quebec.2 Canada is on fire, but our political leaders refuse to act.

That's why tomorrow, our team at 350 Canada is holding an Emergency Mass Call on the Climate Emergency to share our big plan for responding... to the Climate Emergency. We need as many possible to join in. Here are all the details:

What: Emergency Mass Call on the Climate Emergency
Where: Zoom
When: TOMORROW, July 21st, at 3pm PT / 4pm MT / 4pm ST / 5pm CT / 6pm ET / 7pm AT / 7:30pm NDT
Why: The 350 Canada team will share our big plans to make this crisis impossible for our federal leaders to ignore by bringing the intensity of the climate crisis right to our MPs’ doorsteps.

RSVP now to join our action-oriented mass call tomorrow.

We know this is short notice but with communities across the country coming face to face with climate-driven floods, heatwaves, and wildfires, there is not a moment to waste. Here in Vancouver, my friends and I are counting down the days until wildfire smoke engulfs our city. I bought an air filter for the first time the other day and, I’ll be honest, the experience made me furious. Decades of political inaction has created a situation where a summer full of wildfire smoke is almost becoming routine. Politicians are telling individuals - those who can afford it - to buy air filters and masks even as they give billions in public dollars to the fossil fuel companies responsible for this crisis. We cannot let this become the “new normal.” It’s time to speak out.

If you’re angry and scared too, you’re not alone. Thousands of people have already signed our petition calling on Trudeau to take emergency-level action on the climate crisis. Join us tomorrow to learn about our plans to ramp up the pressure on our federal leaders in the coming week.

Justin Trudeau keeps assuring the public he’s doing everything he can to protect us from wildfires, but those words ring hollow. He has the power to do the two big things Canada must do to avoid climate catastrophe: halt fossil fuel expansion in its tracks and kickstart a Just Transition. Instead of rising to meet this moment, Trudeau keeps kicking the can down the road.

Now, with the climate emergency at our doorstep and another federal election around the corner, we have to rise up like never before and push our federal leaders to act with courage. Will you be there tomorrow to hear our plan?

What gives me hope is the number of people who are seeing the fires in Canada, and the escalating climate impacts around the world, and waking up to the urgency of this crisis. It’s been less than two weeks since we launched the Canada on Fire campaign and already hundreds of people who’ve never engaged with us before have taken action. If enough of us get organized and raise our voices together, we can win a real climate emergency response plan that puts people and the planet first.

In solidarity,

Atiya


1. r38

Login Form