National Organizing Call TOMORROW

Learn about our plan to mark the one-year anniversary of the Heat Dome. r1

Paov,

The BC Coroners Service just released a new report on last June’s Heat Dome, confirming that it claimed at least 619 lives.1

It’s been nearly a year, but reading the report brought me right back to the brutal reality of being trapped in 40°C+ heat last summer. My family and I made it through, but so many of us didn’t. We owe it to them, and to ourselves, to make sure these deadly climate disasters don't become the new normal.

Tomorrow night we’re holding a national organizing call to share our plan to mark the one-year anniversary of the Heat Dome and hold our politicians accountable for delaying critical climate action.

Can you join the national organizing call? RSVP now to save your spot.

Date: Thursday, June 9

Time: 4pm PT / 5pm MT / 6pm CT / 7pm ET / 8pm AT / 8:30pm NT

RSVP >>

I was on maternity leave when the Heat Dome hit, raising my then eight month old son and farming in the Okanagan. It felt unbearable at times. We had no choice but to work twelve-hour days in the blazing heat to save parched... crops on our family farm, but it wasn’t much better when we were indoors. Every time an ambulance drove down our street we would all collectively hold our breath and hope members of our community were okay.

When we reach the one-year anniversary of the Heat Dome at the end of the month, we’re going to make sure our politicians know we won’t stand by while they continue the delay tactics that created this climate disaster.

We can’t do it without you. Hundreds of people have already signed up to join the organizing call tomorrow night. Paov, sign up now to join us.

Since the Heat Dome, the federal government has handed out billions of public dollars to Big Oil, greenlit the massive offshore Bay du Nord project, and failed to deliver the long-promised Just Transition Act. Our federal government’s climate delay is costing our communities too much, and sentencing thousands more to suffer, and even die, from future climate disasters. It has to end.

Join us tomorrow night to learn about our plan and how you can get involved.

In solidarity,

Jennifer


1: CBC: Coroner's report on B.C. heat-dome deaths calls for greater support for populations at risk


350.org is building a global climate movement. You can connect with us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, and r38

Login Form